What the _ Kind Of Comment Is This?

I have been getting a lot of rusky Spam lately on some of my sites.

This one was left by someone using the following ip, listed below. I thought that I would post it since I have received a lot lately from this ip located in New York, USA, but, like everyone else, I usually get spammed from an ip overseas, such as the Ripe Network from Amsterdam……..

The Following Stupid Spammer Comment was compliments of:

MPOWER COMMUNICATIONS CORP.
OrgID:      MPWR
Address:    175 SULLY'S TRAIL
Address:    SUITE 350
City:       PITTSFORD
StateProv:  NY
PostalCode: 14534
Country:    US

NetRange:   208.57.0.0 - 208.57.255.255
CIDR:       208.57.0.0/16
NetName:    MPOWER-001
NetHandle:  NET-208-57-0-0-1
Parent:     NET-208-0-0-0-0
NetType:    Direct Allocation
NameServer: NS2.MPOWERCOM.NET
NameServer: NS1.MPOWERCOM.NET
Comment:
RegDate:
Updated:    2001-12-28

RTechHandle: ZM147-ARIN
RTechName:   MPOWER COMMUNICATIONS CORP
RTechPhone:  +1-702-310-4578
RTechEmail:  ip-mgmt@mpowercom.net 

OrgAbuseHandle: MIAA-ARIN
OrgAbuseName:   Mpower IP Abuse Administrator
OrgAbusePhone:  +1-877-642-4375
OrgAbuseEmail:  ip-abuse@mpowercom.net

OrgTechHandle: MITA-ARIN
OrgTechName:   Mpower IP Technical Administrator
OrgTechPhone:  +1-702-310-4578
OrgTechEmail:  ip-mgmt@mpowercom.net

# ARIN WHOIS database, last updated 2007-11-26 19:10
# Enter ? for additional hints on searching ARIN's WHOIS database.

Here is the Spam Comment:

ICQMans | ropololo@mail.ru | IP: 208.57.226.199

Prodaiy ICQ za 12$ za vse.Ïðîäàþ ICQ 12$ çà âñå.
274-693
324-994
564-567
605-800
695-769
985-425
132-335
478-575
Sviaz so mnoi ICQ 458411483. Ñâÿçü ñî ìíîé ICQ 458411483

What the hell does that person(s) think he (She, They, or It) is (are) accomplishing by trying to post that crap?

2 Responses to “What the _ Kind Of Comment Is This?”

  1. I’ve been plagued by this garbage too…

    I did a little research to see what was going on, and found it to be the result of a “botnet” controlled by some Russian clown. Why international governments don’t move in and put a stop to this kind of crap leaves me to wonder if either they are totally incapable of dealing with idiots like this, or if there’s a “nod and wink” in exchange for a little kickback.

    I suspect the latter. Especially if there’s a potential that this may prove useful as a tool to attack a particular entity such as a foreign government in the future.

    I saw a good article on the recent Russian spam at http://www.eweek.com/article2/0,1759,2060235,00.asp

  2. Rabid, I think that you are right about the international governments looking the other way when it comes to this type of harassment on the net. This came from a US based ISP, actually the person is in Nevada. I briefly traced it, but did not believe that it deserved too much of my time. I just don’t see what benefit, other than a testing type scenario, that these Russian idiots will gain with this type of spam. Usually the spammer links to Viagra, or some other product like camel penis enlargement pills for Muslims, etc. This type of non ads spam is rare, especially coming from a U.S. host, (maybe an unwilling victim) not a known proxy server or masked ip, which I have listed in my post. Could it be that this clown is using this provider without really being hosted by them? Could they have been hijacked and this spam is to test it out?…….Could be, but who gves a crap! I just wanted to expose it so people would notice that this is a US host that this is coming from and some Russian spammer doing it. Either way this is still SPAM and I alerted the provider that it was coming through their hosting company.

    I will place it in the can with all the countless other thousands of spam comments that I receive on a regular basis.

    Thanks for the comment.

Leave a Reply